April 28, 2022 Meeting Minutes

Children’s National Hospital

Business Meeting
Thursday April 28, 2022

The meeting was called to order at: 7:05PM

I. Committee Reports

A. Advocacy: Members are receiving a periodic email with the updates from the AAD Advisory Board Committee activities provided by Sara Brooks, M.D. (DC Derm representative).

B. Scholarship Program
a. Scholarship Committee 2021-2022: Dr. Maral Skelsey (chair), Rosemarie Liu, Jennifer DeSimone and Benjamin Lockshin.
b. Ten thousand dollars has been ear marked for scholarships and grants. Applications are due by October 1, 2022.

II. New Business

A. Maryland Dermatology Society President (Dr. Chikoti Wheat) invited our members to join their next in-person membership meeting the evening of Thursday, May 19 at The Hotel at Arundel Preserve. This CME presentation covers the Maryland Legislature’s mandated implicit bias CME needed for relicensing this year. There is no charge for DC Derm members. Email from John Garza to follow.

B. Membership applications for Dr’s Amber Reck Atwater, Michele Magnino, Ashley DiLeronzo, Allison Larson, Divya Angra and Kavita Goyal are presented and voted on for membership and approved.

III. Thank you to all the residents and faculty at Children’s National Hospital for preparing the conference today.

IV. The invited speakers for the meeting are: Dr Elena Hawryluk (Harvard/Boston Children’s): Pediatric Spitzoid tumors in the clinic and Dr Michael Sargen (National Institutes of Health): Molecular and diagnostic assays for pediatric Spitzoid tumors.

V. CME: The society member attendants will receive 2.5 CME credits for the meeting. CME’s will be awarded to your WHC CME account according to the ZOOM attendee’s log. Please DO NOT attempt to text in for credit it will not work.

VI. Next meeting will be at Howard University Hospital on the evening of May 26, 2022.

VI. Closing remarks from President Saurabh Singh, M.D.

The meeting was adjourned at: 7:15PM

Submitted by: John Garza, Administrator